Guacamole – Rowe style

Several years ago my sister in-law Laura, went Paleo. I think she has since reverted a little, but she taught me how easy and simple guacamole really is. When I see store bought mixes filled with powders to add to fresh avocados, I shudder. One does not need anything but basic ingredients for this mashed goodness filled with healthy unsaturated fats to feed your brain.

Step 1
-Go to the store and buy 2 avocados. Not sure if its ripe enough? Gently squeeze. If there is a little give, then they are good to go. If they are super firm, they are super unripe. If you have time, you can get those and stash them in a paper bag over night to use tomorrow. Or the next day. But I digress.

-Get a lemon or lime. This is total personal preference and I will usually alternate depending on my mood.

-A tomato.

-Diced garlic. I cheat here an get the pre-diced stuff. A good friend of mine thinks that is heresy, but I don’t like the smell of garlic on my hands for the rest of the night. Call me picky if you must.

-Cilantro if that’s how you roll. I don’t really like it in my guacamole, but you might. If I make you guac, it will be without this tasty herb.

Step 2.
Slice your ripe but not over-ripe alligator pears (aka avocados) in 1/2. Twist and separate. Grab your knife firmly and thwack it into the seed. Twist and remove the seed. Scoop out the avocados into a decent sized bowl.

20130928-145648.jpg Here is Riley learning the fine art of avocados. (We’ve learned the best way to get him to try new foods is to have him make them.)

Once you’ve scooped out both avocados, slice your lemon/lime in 1/2 and squeeze the juice on top of the avocado. I usually do this through a strainer, but I also dislike seeds and pulp in my dip. Your choice. Now take a fork and smash it all together until its as creamy or chunky as you like. I usually add in the diced garlic here and it is purely by taste – usually about 1/2 a tablespoon.
20130928-150224.jpg
Next up chop up your tomato and throw it in. Stir and taste. Got enough garlic? Tomato? Lemon/lime juice? Good. Grab your favorite chips, pita bread or whatever and eat.

20130928-150347.jpg
We were out of tomatoes when we made guacamole last time. But that is the great thing about it. You can customize it to your hearts desire. The main thing is good avocado and some citrus juice to keep it from browning. No more store bought stuff with preservatives, MSG, and who knows what else, ok?

20130928-150556.jpg

Leave a Reply

