Vanilla cinnamon French toast

20130505-080539.jpg

We started getting local farm fresh eggs from pastured chickens. It’s been pretty awesome seeing the difference in eggs from color to size. And the yolks! Rich, brilliant yellows instead of the tepid sad yolks from store bought eggs. I am striving to bring local foods into my home more and introduce fresh, clean ingredients. To that end, I have some serious eggs to go through soon because we have another 2 dozen coming in the next week. Short of quiche or frittata, French toast is great for using eggs and we also get to use the amazing pane bread I got at Trader Joes from my trip to Atlanta recently. This was one of those ideas where I just threw all the ingredients together and hoped for the best.

Three eggs coated four pieces of bread, and I ended up using about 6 eggs in two different batches. They were whisked together with a dash of vanilla powder and a dash of cinnamon. In a hot pan, I melted butter and coated it. After cooking the bread to a golden brown on each side, I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the finished pieces. We topped them with a little maple syrup, and man, it was heavenly.

20130505-081543.jpg

What are your favorite breakfast items using eggs? I’m going to need more ideas soon!

One thought on “Vanilla cinnamon French toast

  1. Traci says:

    I love a good breakfast casserole.

Leave a Reply

