Shamrock shake paleo style

On St Patrick’s Day I shared a link for a smoothie on my Facebook page.

It was originally posted here. So, I decided to make it.

20130318-194048.jpg
I didn’t have any coconut milk on hand, so I used coconut water. Hopefully it was the same potassium level, but I haven’t had a chance to look up the nutritional value differences. I made it the same way as the recipes except that I didn’t measure the coconut water. I think it was about one cup. I used one avocado that was mostly ripe, three tablespoons of local honey, one tablespoon of homemade vanilla extract, and a 1/2 tablespoon of peppermint extract. I also added 1 1/2 cups of ice and puréed everything in my vitamix blender. This is how it looked.

20130318-194353.jpg

It was surprisingly good. My husband likened it to mint chocolate chip ice cream. The only thing I would do differently is either to use slightly less peppermint oil or not to do a Pilates class immediately after drinking the shake as it kind of gave me heartburn. But I would happily make it again. Tasty and good for you? Yes, please!

2 thoughts on “Shamrock shake paleo style

  1. beckid987 says:

    Like mint chocolate chip ice cream?! I am going to have to try this. Also, can I buy homemade vanilla from you?!

Leave a Reply

